Always Studying…

As a junior doctor, you would think that after going through 4 years of medical school, I’d be pretty knowledgeable in treating people right? Wrong! The reality is, I still almost know nothing about treating people. If you turn to me for help in treating an illness, I’ll turn to a more senior doctor for help. That’s how it’s working out for me now, and I havn’t got in trouble yet for this. In fact, that’s one of the expected duties of us junior doctors; if there is something you don’t know, you go and seek for more senior help. At the end of the day, it’s doing no harm to patients, so if you’re not sure of something, look it up, or find help.

The great thing after graduation however, is that I don’t need to study for exams. I get to actually practice medicine by seeing real patients and contributing to their management in hospital. That’s something I never got to do as a medical student. It’s much more effective reinforcement of learning when you actually apply what you know as opposed to just regurgitation for an exam.

Whenever I go home (and I’m not too tired) I’ll usually look up concepts and information about patients and cases I’ve seen at hospital so I can learn from what I see at the hospital. That’s one of the things I love about medicine – you’re always learning something new everyday, so you won’t get stale.

Leave a Reply

