The Patient Did What???!!!!

Perhaps one of the most “ewww” inducing factor I had come across happened to one of my patients. And it’s not very frequent where I go “ewww” because of a patient’s actions, but this one patient really did it for me.

So, having arrived at the psychiatry ward right after morning meeting, I go about my business ready to start my task of mundane ward jobs. One of the nurses approaches me, and I know that she wants to talk about the patient she’s looking after.

“Oh yea, I was wondering if you’d be able to write up some laxatives for Mrs A. She states she’s been suffering from constipation the last 2 days. ”

I reply “oh yea, so has she still been unable to open her bowels this morning?”

“She went to the toilet this morning. But she states that she had a lot of difficulty, and used her fingers to manually evacuate.”

“Manually evacuate”

I couldn’t help but let a wide grin form on my face. The patient manually evacuated because of constipation. It just doesn’t seem right when a patient does it.  I mean, I’ve done several rectal examinations (with gloves of course), but a patient doing a manual evacuation was just somehow very gross.

I saw her later that day, and asked about her bowel habits.

“How have your bowels been lately?”

“Doctor, they havn’t been to great. I tried to go this morning, but I’ve been really constipated, so I had to use my fingers.”

I fought back laughter, and tried thinking of lots of sad things to prevent myself bursting out into inappropriate laughter.

“Well, I can put you on some coloxyl and senna and some movicol”.

Whenever I see this patient now, images of two fingers manually evacuating faeces always conjures up. I can’t help it. I don’t know why after having done probably 20+ rectal exams, it’s only been this one patient that brings up such a strong image of fingers up bottoms.

Leave a Reply

