Back Into The Lion’s Den

Having spent 10 weeks in a busy medicine rotation, I am now on the dreaded ‘relief’ term – a term in which I could be in any department to relieve other resident medical officers who go on holiday.

What I absolutely dreaded was the idea of going back to surgery. The horrors of being in surgery a year ago were just too much. The idea of having to stay late, and to put in a tremendous amount of effort that largely went unnoticed was too much.

But having spent a week already in surgery, I’m actually starting to like it. The registrars are quite nice actually. The patient list is manageable at under 15 on most days (unlike the 30 patient list surgery constantly had last year). And the head of surgery from last year has left permanently (she tried to fail my mid term assessment for trivial reasons like having checked a patient’s bloods an hour late when they had a potassium of 5.0).

In addition, perhaps my skills really have improved. Last year, discharging 3 patients and managing the ward on my own was extremely challenging and stressful. I did all that a few days ago, with time left to help out at clinics, and then some more to attend a minor operations clinic.

I have just one more week of surgery, and there will be another person on the team, bringing the total count of residents to 5. Looks like next week won’t be too bad. After surgery – a few weeks of emergency medicine. I hope that goes smoothly as well.

Leave a Reply

