The Last Day of Hospital

Today was officially the last day of hospital. I was doing the dreaded postnatal checks (which I have done usually on Saturday, and those were busy as ever), so imagine my surprise when I went in today to find only 9 postnatal discharges (I have usually had to do 14- 18, with many ward call jobs as well in between).

By 12 noon, I had managed to see all my patients. Best day ever I must say. It has never happened before, and I am so glad that it happened on my last day of hospital.

Even the PAOU (pregnancy assessment and observation unit) was “quiet”, so they didn’t really need the help I offered them. So, I ended up spending 5 hours doing something productive like reading up stuff on medicare (prior to my orientation tomorrow), and some stuff on hypertension.

Also, today was a really nice day. Last few days have been muggy days with 33 degree temperatures. Today was a nice 27 degrees. Very pleasant.

Looking back at my 3 years in hospital, I can say that I’ve come a fair way. But being in training as of tomorrow, I have even more to go. Hospital time was stressful at times, but I can certainly say that I have learned a lot from it, and I am grateful to my patients, to my colleagues and the to the registrars and consultants who gave me great support and educational opportunities.

Before I left the hospital, I posted some internal mail to “Human Resources” with my ID badge, parking card and a letter written on a progress note.

“Dear Human Resources,

Please find enclosed my ID badge and car parking card.

I have had a wonderful time working here at the hospital.

Kind regards

The Placebo Effect

 

I dropped it off at the internal mails box, to never see my name badge ever again.

Leaving the hospital, I crossed the street, before deciding that I needed to take a photo of the hospital entrance, and so went back. Just like my last regional hospital, I don’t know when I’ll be passing the entrance again.

I race off to catch my bus, thinking that this is the last bus ride back home from the hospital. A nice finish to the day, and a nice finish to the last day in hospital. I need to pack my stuff up for tomorrow for… The start of orientation as a general practice registrar

Leave a Reply

